The 2019 Lasker~DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award honors H. Michael Shepard, Dennis J. Slamon, and Axel Ullrich for the invention of Herceptin—a targeted antibody therapy for breast cancer.
2019 Lasker Award goes to three scientists who invented Herceptin, including two worked at Herceptin story is biotech innovation at its finest, a trailblazer for targeted therapy in oncology. Kudos to all those involved!
“When every single experiment you do works, that means you are on to something good.” 2019 #Lasker Laureates H. Michael Shepard and Dennis J. Slamon talk about the journey that led to the creation of #Herceptin. Watch the full video here: #breastcancer
Lasker-Debakey Clinical Award to Shepard/Slamon/Ullrich for development of trastuzumab/Herceptin -Cured countless women -Extended lives, improved QOL for innumerable #MBC patients -Fundamentally changed understanding of HER2 biology Still more to do!